Back of the napkin revisited

I was really jazzed up to read the book after the talk at Baychi. I purchased the book and dove in finishing it within a week. It does have a case study in the book applying the methods described throughout the book. It sounded so easy I decided to apply it to a practical problem. In order to get some distance from the content I took a problem that my wife was working on.

As I discussed the problem with her I began to sketch down what I was hearing. I did get a good first pass and felt confident about what I was doing. If anything I think the framework helps you ask the question you need to ask to get to the root cause and come up with a clear problem statement. Progressing on with the problem I moved on to applying the visual thinking codex which is comprised of the SQVID and the frameworks defined in the book.

I ran into some issues when applying the frameworks to the problem. In particular I got stumped on the Where stage and the When stage. Maybe the content did not lend itself well to these? Maybe is me new to the process? Hard to tell.

The other thing I noticed is that because it was just the two of us, I was wondering if this is maybe a better system to use with several people in the room? Some of the items that we discovered or discussed was small. Lastly I am not sure that these helped my wife deliver a plan to solve the problem.

I like the framework and it seems to make sense but applying it is a bit difficult. Again not sure if its me as a novice to this or the type of problem.

If  you are curios to see the work generated through the process you can see it all in the pdf doc.

napkin examples

Leave a Reply

