too much help?

I recently went to an olympics site created for tracking the activities / events of the olympics created by the new york times. As I loaded the page I was faced with a time grid, good since that is what i was expecting, but it was covered up with a bunch of little yellow boxes of help layered on top of the grid. They talk about how to do this and how to do that. My first thought was, if there is this much help displayed on first arrival, its going to be hard to use. Its interesting how showing a lot of help when a user arrives at a page can really set the tone and expectations for the level of difficulty from a site user can expect. I quickly got past the help by clicking on any object. But then was faced with, well I hope i did not need that stuff becuase I have no idea how to get it back.
In turns out that they site is not horribly unusable its just that the first impression was giving a feeling of ease and simplicity.

Leave a Reply

